I grew up believing my parents were heroes.They could do nothing wrong and I couldn’t wait to grow up and give back to them. I recognized the sacrifice,the hard work and the determination to see their children have everything they could only have dreamed of as children.

Like most teenagers, I questioned a lot of things. I wouldn’t say I was a rebel not by a long shot. I didn’t have a boyfriend until I was 22 and was too petrified of what smoking would do to my looks to even go near a cigarette, let alone try what I can only assume are hard drugs. The things I did question had a lot to do with a religion called Islam.

This is where I should let you know that I was raised TO BE A MUSLIM . So my religious questions naturally,would be mainly concerning Islam.

Like if I was supposed to  have faith that God will help me,then why were we expected to pray five times a day to reach out to this God and ask for help,wasn’t it an assured thing?

Why are women expected to cover themselves with the exception of hands and face whereas men are free to wear whatever they like as long as they cover between the navel area to the knees? And why is it that when a female is raped,the blame is all on her wearing something she wasn’t supposed to or being somewhere she didn’t belong..Why wasn’t the blame ever put on the male who I’ve always felt got away with the act of raping.

And there’s the question of the quran and if it is the word of god himself then why didnt god himself make prints and not people making money off of printing these copies?

Aren’t all these legitimate questions?

How are you convinced that some holy book is what it is when there’s thousands of years of between then and now. And don’t get me started on the 72 virgins of heaven awaiting the men who die in the name of islam. How sexual is this religion really?

Unfortunately once I tell my family of my reservations I would be sure that these questions would not be taken lightly..I would be labelled apostate for daring to ask. I suppose I will cross that bridge when I come to it.

But I refuse to continue living a lie.

 

Leave a Reply

